Oh, Just Put Some Clothes On…

(originally posted 8/18/09)

That is what I woke up to one Thursday morning as a heading to a review of Naked Girls Reading done by the Chicago Tribune.  Apparently, the journalist didn’t get that Naked Girls Reading would be exactly that.  The title cannot get any more simple.  Now, I understand that not everyone is going to enjoy every performance or show that I do, but what I don’t understand is the need to waste my time in an interview if none of what I said is going to be printed.  That is my issue.  Before this ‘journalist’ came to the show, she interviewed myself and Franky Vivid on the phone for 45min each.  That is a long interview, especially when we’re in LA and trying to open a show out there.  We deemed that this was important enough for our time.  Ok, the story continues.  We land on Aug. 9 at Midway around 4pm, and head to Naked Girls Reading because we have a show that night.  The ‘journalist’ is there and interviewing the other naked girls.  She stays for the whole show and then keeps me and the girls there after the show for another hour.  Again, none of what anyone said was printed.  I really think the story was written before she attended the show.  I really don’t like when my time is wasted.  I could tell that in her questioning, she was trying to get us to say something stupid or offensive.  We didn’t give it to her.  She kept pressing me for other things we could do naked.  I didn’t say anything besides Naked Girls Cooking, because that is an actual idea that we are working on.  Finally, after she had asked that question about 10 times, I asked her if there was anything she wanted to see us do naked.  Well, that certainly flustered her and the interview was done shortly after that. Another issue I have with this ‘writer’ is her knack for insulting my audience.  She called the guys in the front ‘creepy’.  The guys in the front were not creepy.  They have been to about 3 shows and are very nice and always talk to us about the literature.  I think she wanted them to be creepy because that somehow made this a better article. I am very protective of my girls and of my audience.  I don’t like when either are insulted.  I can take it all day, but don’t start attacking the girls I work with or the people that are fans of what we do.  Granted, the fact that the girls are naked will get people in the door, but it’s the literature that keeps them coming back.  I believe that this event is beautiful and embraces sexuality and intelligence.  I am proud of it.  I cannot help if there are angry feminist writers out there, but what I can do is continue to do this event that is full of love and beauty. I will see you all next month for ‘So You Wanna be a Naked Girl’.  If you do, please fill out the form <a href=”http://nakedgirlsreading.wordpress.com/2009/08/10/the-best-reality-show-ever/”>HERE</a&gt; and you are in!

~ by ngrblogadmin on January 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
