Table for Two Please

(originally posted 10/8/09)

I must admit that I was very nervous to read for you all this month.  Scary stories actually scare me!  I suppose that’s the goal, but being scared and naked just didn’t appeal to me.  Maybe it was the goosebumps, which I definitely had this month.  Perhaps you noticed?  Or maybe you were distracted by my naked Charlie Chaplin, complete with a mustache on top and bottom.  Now, that was fun!

In my quest to find something that didn’t scare my pants on, I ran across Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.  This was particularly resonating this month.  I’ve always struggled with my two sides (or more at times) and have really been focusing on that this past month and I felt reading this book was very appropriate.  I have this crazy, passionate side and I also have the logical, business side.  It’s tiring and they’re so opposite, and really what I’m looking for is balance.  I’m either one or the other.  I’m very extreme.  Balance is my goal at the moment, and I hope to find it.

I really loved Jekyll and Hyde way more than I thought I would, probably because of all my inner turmoil at the time I was reading it.  If you haven’t read this book, I highly recommend it.  Going into it, I had assumed that there would be these great passages about his physical transformations, but that really wasn’t the focus at all.  I found something better than the transformation of the physical, but the transformation of his inner two selves showing themselves in subtle physical ways.

It was ultimately a tragic story and the evil had won, but the way the author writes is so tactile, so beautiful in a demented way.  If you can read it aloud to yourself, or someone near you willing to listen, the words feel so good in your mouth.

Now, I cannot say that this helped me on my path to balance, but I do feel lighter, and less alone.  I have a feeling this is going to be a constant battle, and I think I’m ok with that.  Makes things interesting, doesn’t it?

~ by ngrblogadmin on January 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
