See your own picture on a PULP NOVEL COVER

UPDATE****___________________________________________________________________

I had one participant in my blog Contest!! Thanks for playing along Delia – here you are on the cover of a pulp novel as promised! Looking fabulous too might I add.

mwah – Mimi


This month’s theme, PULP NOVELS was so delicious I find myself just wanting to squeeze a few more drops of juicy sticky sweetness out of it before putting it to bed. There were as many curves in the plots of the dime store delights as there were in the fleshy delights of the Chicago sweeties who love to keep you hanging on every word. They keep me hanging on too as I listen naked next to them. The beauty of the pulp novel lies for me in it’s accessibility and it’s wonderful campy one liners. I’m a huge sucker for a zinger. I think Raymond Chandler lit on the real pulp of pulp when he said, “A good story cannot be devised; it has to be distilled.” I love that! People who come right to the point are my kind of people and so in that spirit lets have at it!

No one can dish like this lil dish!

To celebrate pulp I designed (using my expert photo-shop abilities thank you very much) A pulp fiction novel cover with yours truly (Mimi) on the front! Wheee! Here’s the deal I’m offering to do the same for you. If you’re reading this it means I like your stuff seeing as were made of the same stuff  (clearly we both dig boobs and books ) and seeing as those are a few very fine points on which to agree I figured I’d reach out to you across the blog-o-sphere. In the  spirit of sympatico allow me to extend to you a little friendly bargain. Here’s the Deal Dick or Jane as the case may be:

– first, send me a picture (either of you or of the person you want to appear on the cover) mimifirst01@gmail.com

– next  comment on this post and a few of the other blog posts on the NGR wordpress that you’ve particularly enjoyed reading we like hearing from you

– finally if you haven’t yet and you like burlesque and pulp fiction please check this out you’ll love it! Jonny Porkpie wrote it and it’s such a great read: http://www.amazon.com/Corpse-Wore-Pasties-Hard-Crime/dp/0843961236

the first five people to do so will get a very cool (**FREE**) graphic at 150dpi which they can use as they please!

I will upload the designed covers onto this blog so if you’re not lucky enough to be in the top 5 (so sorry) you can still enjoy the results.

FUN RIGHT!

So with that I’ll sign off leaving you with a few wonderful quotes from Dash Hammett and Raymond Chandler.

I do a great deal of research – particularly in the apartments of tall blondes. -RC

From 30 feet away she looked like a lot of class. From 10 feet away she looked like something made up to be seen from 30 feet away. -RC

She gave me a smile I could feel in my hip pocket. -RC

Feed the lettuce to the bunny and eat the bunny. -DH

It’s awfully easy to be in love in jail. -DH

I haven’t any sort of plans for the future but I reckon things will work out in some manner. -DH

I like women. I really like women. – DH

** I’d like to thank and credit VaVoom Pinups for the use of the image of Me 🙂

~ by mimifirst on January 15, 2010.

3 Responses to “See your own picture on a PULP NOVEL COVER”

  1. Love this idea. Just got the new Jonny Porkpie book in the mail. I love pulp cover art, and I was thrilled when I discovered that Bookworks on Clark has a neat little selection of old pulp novels!

  2. First never comes in last.

  3. i wanna talk on live,how its possible?

Leave a Reply

 
