Judge a Book by its Cover

This month in Chicago, we had a Pulp Fiction theme.  I have been anxiously awaiting this theme since I started Naked Girls Reading.  I believe I fell in love with pulp fiction about a year and a half ago.  I love the art work and the urgent writing of the authors.  My first pulp book I read was Mitsou by Colette.  It is about a French showgirl who is married to a hum-drum sort of character named, The Respectable Man.  She needs excitement and takes on lovers, like many showgirls do.  I found this book so charming.  But, why did I pick this book first?  Well, the cover, of course!  Just a red-headed showgirl looking over her shoulder.  So coy.  From then on, I was hooked.

At our event, I asked the audience to pick out a book just based on the cover and we would read whatever we opened up to.  I believe this was at the suggestion of Dominique Trixx, and I thought it was brilliant, because, who doesn’t judge a book by its cover?

And just a small plug for our Naked Girls Reading NYC Chapter, co-founded by Jonny Porkpie.  Mr. Porkpie has written a pulp novel entitled, ‘The Corpse Wore Pasties’ published by Hardcase.  What a fun book!  I think I sat on the couch just giggling the whole time.  And of course, it has a great cover.  Pick it up if you have a chance.

~ by michellelamour on January 18, 2010.

3 Responses to “Judge a Book by its Cover”

  1. I prefer the sligthly more contemporary Colette, Mae West. She was of course a burlesque performer and had a hit one-woman show on Vaudeville long before she became the winking counterpart to W.C. Fields and so many other great early film comedians. She too was hounded by the censors, had a wonderfully scurrilous and very public private life, and wouldn’t back down or apologize for any of it. Some of her jokes still sound racy today. I wish somebody would put together the material from her one-woman shows but that would take an intrepid work of scholarship. Who knows if this stuff survived. Later, when the idea of an independent studio fell apart, and prudery descended on Hollywood, she was practically run out of movies–she used to show up on TV shows like Dick Cavett in the 60’s.

  2. Thank you for your comment. I, too, am a fan of Mae West. Gotta love those dirty dames. I can definitely relate!

  3. Of course perversity comes in all shapes, one shouldn’t be too restrictive.
    TOG

Leave a Reply

 
