What dreams may come

Last night was our second NakedGirlsReading in Seattle, and it was a beautiful, beautiful thing. The  selections were varied, surprising, and all completely appropriate. I found this theme interesting, as  everyone had very personal reasons as to why they chose the selections they did.

I love the associations we make with storytelling, how lore and fable can comfort, and how passages, that seem trifling at the time perhaps, stay with us throughout the years. My selection, and the body of personal reading history that I took it from, had the effect of making me hate a certain cultural phenomena: Twilight.

I chose an excerpt from Carmilla by Sheridan Le Fanu, a novella written 25 years prior to Dracula, which influenced Stoker heavily.  I loved. loved. loved Vampire stories in my teens. I read them voraciously, and I read good ones! This is probably why I have never had any interest in the Twilight hoopla and why it took me until last month to watch True Blood (which, might I add, I am quite taken with).

The stories I read kept me up at night, and I lived for it. I thrilled to lying awake at night, wondering if a cold hand would reach for my throat as I slept, imaging myself able roam the dark cocoon of night, beautiful, ageless, fearsome. I ponder this fascination… I was not a particularly morbid child, I wasn’t a stereotypically goth kid, I just loved Vampires.

And I dreamt fantastical, horrible things. As the story itself says in  this passage,

“But dreams come through stone walls, light up dark rooms, or darken light ones, and their persons make their exits and their entrances as they please, and laugh at locksmiths”

Another possible side effect: I do like to be bitten, in, *ahem*, certain circumstances. Which came first, the story or the kink? 😉

xo, Polly Wood

Thespian, Lesbian, Ecdysiast, Bookworm

~ by ngrseattle on February 8, 2010.

One Response to “What dreams may come”

  1. i have a huge crush on you.

Leave a Reply

 
