The meeting of nerd minds.

I’m in love. I’m in love with books, I’m in love with audiences, I’m in love with naked flesh, I’m in love with nerds. I am definitely in love with Naked Girls Reading Science Fiction.

March marks our third month of Naked Girls Reading and it has been my favorite so far. Judging by the great press we got in Seattle’s weekly paper, The Stranger, and the fact that we sold out our 120 seat hall, I think I might not be the only one in love with this event. Personally, I have some very warm and wonderful  associations with Science Fiction itself. My mother has been a huge lover of SciFi/Fantasy for as long as I can remember and, when I was young, the film adaptations of Dune and Blade Runner were on frequent rotation at my house. Then there was my first love, who was enamored with British Sci Fi and read Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy aloud to me many times during those teenage years when we spent hours on the phone every night.  This weekend I even attended the Emerald City Comicon, where I shook hands with none other than Aaron Douglas, Battlestar Galactica’s Chief Tyrol. (I told him he was my favorite skinjob.) But it was not just my personal attachment to the material that made this event so exciting for me. It was also the thrill of the ritual leading up to that amazing intimate nude moment. I’ll tell you a little about my ritual. First, I begin by picking out my selections. This month, I read Dune, Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, and Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep. I always pick selections that are meaningful to me, that express an important part of my personality, but I also strive for selections that audiences will connect to and enjoy. Next, I go on a hunt of Seattle for the perfect copy of my book. I am partial to used paperback books from the 60’s or 70’s. I love a book with a cover that is soft and frayed around the edges, with pages that have yellowed and cracked with age, and that smell…. uuuuuuuuunnggggghhhhhhhh. Once I have picked the perfect selection and found the perfect used copy, I reread the book to find just the right five minute vignette. It must stand out on its own, without needing too much back story or explanation. It has to pack an emotional punch of some sort. I want the audience on the edge of their seat. Once I find the perfect moment, I start to practice. I read the story aloud to myself, to my partner, in the bathtub, in living room sun beams. I practice all the words, I practice each character’s voice, I read the selection until it rolls off my tongue and begins to have a life of its own.  By the time the first Sunday of the month rolls around, I am so deeply involved in literary foreplay that I can hardly contain myself. When we finally make our way to the stage and our robes come off, I am completely primed for an intellectually fulfilling meeting of audience and performer minds. The audience and I, we are ready to grok.

Like with any drug, the moment my Naked Girls Reading Science Fiction high began to fade, I started thinking about my next hit. On April 4th, the Naked Girls will find religion and will be reading our favorite spiritual texts. I have started the ritual again and cannot wait for another meeting of the minds. I hope to see you there.

~ by ngrseattle on March 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
