A Naked Year in Review

If someone would have told me 5 years ago that I would be traveling the country to read naked to people, I would have laughed, but not hard.  Five years ago I was traveling around the world taking my clothes off for audiences (and still am), so the idea of doing this wasn’t so far fetched for me.  While I do enjoy the striptease, the naked reading has really pushed me to confront lingering demons.  This was a whole new level of vulnerable for me.  I was ok with the nudity, it was the reading that had me shaking.  I still get nervous sometimes but not nearly as bad as I was that very first time!  Now, of course I couldn’t keep this all to myself.  Naked Girls Reading had to be experienced in other cities:

August 2009: Denver and Dallas

Denver was the first city to open another chapter.  I remember giggling to myself on the plane because I kept thinking how funny it was that I was going to read naked in another city with unfamiliar naked girls.  Sounds crazy, I know, but I got really familiar with the girls in Chicago (ok, not that familiar), but the first time I was naked with a bunch of strangers was an experience.  I remember sitting there and looking across and thinking, ” I don’t know those boobs. What’s going on?”  Ya know, sometimes you just get used to seeing the same boobs and that’s nice!

Dallas was really fun!  I did not know what to expect as Dallas is located in Texas, but the reception was very warm.  The girls were so excited and appreciative that they got to read naked.  Ahh, I love making dreams come true.

October 2009: NYC

I hate to be cliche, but I LOVE New York!  I have to go a couple times a year to get my fix.  This was held at Madame X, which was a really sexy venue.  This was also the first time I stood to read with a microphone.  Hello hurdle!  I HATE microphones.  Well, that cured it.  I’m over it.  Those ladies were very nervous too and I think the best thing said was when Gigi La Femme got up and said she was nervous but that she was picturing the audience naked.  That got a good laugh!

November 2009: Madison

Yeah, Wisconsin.  For that one, I brought along Greta Layne.  Really wasn’t sure how this one was going to go, being that it was Wisconsin, but again, just like Dallas, they surprised me.  What a great loving and supportive audience.  I read ‘The Raven’ at this one, and let me tell you, that is very difficult to do if you’ve had some wine.  A lot of alliteration!

January 2010: Seattle, Key West, and Boston

Wow Seattle!  Wow!  The place was packed and this was the largest audience I read for.  I think there were about 140 people there.  Usually the places we do this are a bit more intimate, but this seemed to work.  The audience felt really connected and they weren’t shy about asking questions afterwards.  I found them completely charming.

Key West…surprisingly cold!  We were outside reading (my first outdoors read), and I suppose Key West was having a cold spell.  Bad timing!  Let’s say that all the naked girls looked especially excited while reading Hemingway.  Someone at this event said, ‘Ya know, I didn’t expect you all to be naked.’  I could not have picked an easier title for this event.

Boston is the first one I’ve missed.  Hey, a naked girl can’t be in two places at once!

March 2010: Toronto

And now we’re international!  This was a tough one.  I had a show in Montreal the night before and then had to get up very early to get a rental car to drive to Toronto.  That’s about a 5 hour drive.  I was so tired!  Then I had about 2 hours to shower and prepare for the evening.  When I arrived, I had an interview with Naked News!  They were naked, I was naked.  Crazy!  Then we read and all was good in the world.  I have to say, reading ‘Good Night Moon’ naked is always a treat.

And, here we are, back in Chicago, celebrating the one year anniversary of Naked Girls Reading.  Here is a picture of our celebratory cake:

Bet those cake decorators were curious.

Thank you to all who have made this idea a success this year.  We are so excited that this event is infiltrating the world.  We can’t wait to see where we go next.

~ by michellelamour on March 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
