Lay the real thing on me

I got a little obsessed with how Ziggy Stardust really , really was created.

“I’m an alligator, I’m a mama-papa coming for you-          (Some choice Moonage Daydream Lyrics, but you knew that..)

“I’m the space invader, I’ll be a rock n rollin’ bitch for you             …Keep your ‘lectric eye on me babe – Put your ray gun to my head – Press your space face close to mine, love       freak out in a moonage daydream oh yeah

.Don’t fake it baby, lay the real thing on me   The church of man, love  Is such a holy place to be       Make me baby, make me know you really care  Make me jump into the air”

AHHH, damn.  (that’s not in there.)

Turns out Vince Taylor was a true real life  rock and roll casualty, a star from the Sixties,  and part of the blueprint of David Bowie’s Ziggy Stardust concept — the hot, blue, bothered, simple sexy erotic story and group of songs. I decided to show off some lore and photos from the David Bowie/Mick Rock book, Moonage Daydream. I listen to these songs over and over and they get more intense each time. Damnnnnn. But you knew that.

We had fun playing with lore such as the type in Hammer of the Gods, the Stephen Davis Led Zepplin Saga. I guess I had to throw that in for comic effect. Refused to read the Shark story, but then I ended up telling it anyway. I did make sure to recount the deal with the devil part.

Velvet Underground, getting kicked out of Provincetown, R.I.. They stole a lot of shit from the leather shop, used the whips, turned their back on the audience, got run out of town. My fave kind of fodder. Up-Tight,  the Velvet Underground Story, by Victor Bockris/Gerard Malanga.

My theme….ah, I really had a theme! Both the Ziggy Stardust/Spiders from Mars projects and Velvet U. were direct responses to how the 60’s became real tired. BORING. Not real anymore. Just style, just B.S., bull shit.  The Velvets called bullshit on the whole mantra.. “Hey, we’re gonna have a good time, love , peace, happiness…let’s get involved…”  Bowie was fuckin’ sick of rock wandering into what he describes as “a sort of denim hell.” The street life of long hair, beards, leftover beads from the Sixties, and….flares.

He felt the 70’s were the start of the 21st Century…. he was inspired by films like 2001, Clockwork Orange,  Droogs dressed to kill style. He felt “Nothing was true anymore”, so his “we are the future, now, way of celebrating, was….a rock n roll band (“the only means at our disposal”)

So, damn , that’s where I close. Rock.  music. That to me is often the only means at our disposal. So, lay it on me, make me jump into the air, make it like you really care.

—Dominique Trixx

~ by dominiquetrixx on May 4, 2010.

One Response to “Lay the real thing on me”

  1. I really enjoyed the readings you choose, it was great learning about the inspiration for Ziggy Stardust. It totally brought it to life for me, the fact it was based on a real person made it that much more meaningful. Of course it has been quite a while since I’ve listened to that album, however, I still can remember the first time I really paid attention to the words and thought about the story and the readings brought that all back for me.

    I was glad you got into the “Shark” or (Red Snapper) story from “Hammer of the Gods” I think it epitomizes the debauchery and excess of the band and of that time. Led Zepplin was the perfect storm of rock and roll lifestyle, unbelievable talent and gratuitous promotion courtesy of the most “bad ass” of all time managers Peter Grant. You touched on it a little bit and whether you believe it was payment for making a deal with the devil, living that type of lifestyle no matter how glorified it was, has a price. It was higher for some of them than others but I believe they all paid something.
    I’ve only ever scratched the surface of punk, we talked about it a little after the show, but I always thought punk was a rebellion against the uber-complacated classic rock bands like, Genesis, Kansas, Boston etc of the 70’s. It was interesting to find out it has started before that. You really sparked my interest in Velvet Underground and I’m glad I got my music history straightened out. Thank you very much for that.
    I had such a great time and I look forward to the next NGR!!
    Rikm312

Leave a Reply

 
