A Fangsgiving Feast of Vampire Delights

This month we naked gals got to read up on our Vampires: Vlad Tepes aka DraculaEdward Cullen the sparkly vampire from Twilight, the dashing southern vamps in True Blood, and, last but not least, there was even an impersonation of Sesame Street’s own, The Count.  Ah Ah Ah Ha Ha Ha

Some of my favorite notable Vampires we didn’t quite have time to cover are: Lady Bathory, St. Germain, and Rasputin. Thier legends are pretty intense. Lesbian nymphomaniac sadists from the 1500’s anyone? Or how about, prophetic Russian mystics who couldn’t be killed? History has so many great legends, we really don’t even need you Stephanie Meyer so your sparkly care bear stare vampires can just SUCK IT.

For all ye weary of the vampire trend I promised you a feast and so let us not speak of bad mormon writers again. Feast your eyes on the picture above. Isn’t this a juicy sensual fabulous neck? I’m not even a vampire and I kinda want to bite into it. Consider the photo above a palate cleanser as we progress into the next course.  Before the tasting please allow me to share a few reasons why my blood is still boiling for vampires despite the abundance of bad tween books out there on the subject. We’ve already discussed a few of the notable historical vamps and now lets progress to the contemporary.

1.)  Raison D’etre Numero Uno: Oh Sookie
Let me get in your head
Oh Sookie
We can lay in the bed
Oh Sookie
Choose a player like me
Do it in the daytime with the D-O double G
Oh Sookie
Can I take you away
Oh Sookie
You ever been to LA?
Oh Sookie
Come and play on my team
We’ll do it in the daytime So Bill won’t know a thing!

2.) El Secundo – Revisionist History is all the rage these days with politicians resurrecting the dead to breathe life into their crummy rhetoric but wouldn’t it be great if we could use historical figures for other things like slaying vampires for instance. History’s not as dry as you may have thought let me give you a hint he wore a top hat and if that wasn’t cool enough check it.

3.) And finally the icing on the whole bloody cake! Let me start this by saying my first two selections have prepared you with camp and from those selections I hope you can deduce that I’m not a literary or pop culture elitist. And so when I recommend to you the following you won’t be scared away by the scandanavian name below. Please note that if  you don’t want me to come for you in the night mwah ha ha… or, if perhaps you do want me to come for you in the night then you had better get hip to my final and favorite selection.

• Book: Låt Den Rätte Komma In, John Ajvide Lindqvist, 2004

• Film: Let The Right One In, adapted by John Ajvide Lindqvist, directed by Tomas Alfredson, 2008

An amazing book, an even more amazing movie. I swear both have haunted me ever since I first saw them. Eerie, playful, and lush, with undertones of deep questioning on the nature of justice, childhood, protection, love and death.

I know the whole Vampire craze is probably not for everybody’s tastes but I really feel that it’s resonating in this cultural moment for a reason and perhaps it’s worth a second bite.

Until  next we eat,

Mimi

P.S. – Thanks to Time out for these great photos of our event!

~ by mimifirst on June 25, 2010.

One Response to “A Fangsgiving Feast of Vampire Delights”

  1. Thank you for posting “Oh Sookie”!

Leave a Reply

 
