Heading down to pillage- Where are the Fountains?

Dominique Trixx — I flew back from New Orleans the other day, where they treasure Jean Lafitte. (pun intended). Nola reminded me a little bit of the Carribbean – fountains, and of course sunken pirate ships –  Actually, yesterday (Sept 19) was Talk Like A Pirate Day, the International Holiday, created by John Baur and Mark Summers. They were kind enough to send over signed copies of their book, “Well, Blow Me Down! A Guy’s Guide to Talking Like a Pirate” (really funny, you two!! Thanks!)..I read a part from the Chapter 8 Hall of Fame,  featuring Anne Bonney and Mary Read.   Scintillating! Descriptive!    The lady pirates were probably “just good friends.” I say to you, John, ‘Ol’ Chumbucket’, Baur, and you, Mark, ‘Cap’n Slappy’, Summers – nice. imagery. (those monikers are  fucking hilarious, btw)   Guess what? I  went on a treasure hunt on Sept. 19th.  Still recovering from the high temps of Nola, probably the temps the pirates handled, (although they profited from trade winds in much of the further east Caribbean waters I imagine)-  I found myself in Lincoln Park, Chicago, on Talk Like A Pirate Day, running about looking for a treasure, treasure map and all, although I confess I didn’t do the “talking like one” part. I’m not that perfect.

Back to my tale of our Naked Girls Reading Pirate Day, I also enjoyed reading from “Pirates, True Tales of Notorious Buccaneers”, by Henry Gilbert, with the original illustrations by J. Finnemore. As a fan of maritime etchings and illustrations, this caught my eye. It was originally published in 1916 as The Book of Pirates. 12 illustrations! Stories! I read about Captain Avery, “the Successful Pirate.” The illustration for this chapter was “There was much joy among the pirates.” I want to pose this question to my “Well, Blow Me Down!” friends, Ol’ Chumbucket and Cap’n Slappy. There seemed to be the type of merriment on the deck at night that seemed, well, also with connotations of same sex enjoyment, if you will. Perhaps my imagination was too vivid, but the suggestion did create a few chuckles from our slap happy audience. I quote from the book: “If Captain Gibson had been a little keener-witted he would have seen that Avery was indeed dangerously familiar with some of the bolder spirits among the crew.” Maybe they were just talking about their …plan. I digress with his history. He was portrayed as a hero in the play “The Successful Pirate,” produced at Drury Lane in November 1712. Apparently he ended up in in poverty, though. Ah, the glamour debunked. I liked how the author of this book incorporated a passage about the writers who wrote these tales.  “Such tales probably emanated from the fertile brains of literary hacks living in their bare garrets at Islington or Shoreditch, who, poor rogues, made up by the vivid wealth of their imagination for the starvation and penury of their actual existence.” So might explain the liberty with which they “explored” Avery. Ok, now I’m getting a bit too imaginative. Just having a little fun, mateys.

Michelle L’amour ended the night with a delightful reading of Henry and the Buccaneer Bunnies by Carolyn Crimi. Attend ye, all.

~ by dominiquetrixx on September 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
