Truth is a Matter of the Imagination

The month of April brought SciFi to the Chicago Naked Girls…finally.  If you had seen the posters or were there, I’m sure you heard the catchy little phrase “Going where no man has gone before”, in reference to the event.  Well, I’d like to take the time now to rephrase that.  I would like to refer to the evening as “Going where Greta has never gone before”.  You may laugh or think I’m trying to be cheeky, but the truth is, I really hadn’t been there before…ever.

I want to share with you why I was petrified of this theme.  Are you sitting down as you read this?  No, seriously, are you?  I’m about to make a confession.  I had never before in my life picked up a science fiction book.  But wait, that’s not all.  I’ve actually never even seen Star Trek, Star Wars, or any other sci fi movie.  That fact somehow manages to shock nearly everyone that hears it.  What can I say?  That’s just me.  I wasn’t really exposed to the material growing up, never took interest in it as I got older, and it is now like a foreign language to me that I had never needed to learn nor had ever been pressured into learning.  Naturally, when I realized that this was the theme for April, I began having heart palpitations.

Being that this a genre that fans take very seriously, I really wanted to do it justice.  But how was I to know which works were considered good in comparison to which authors were looked down upon?  I have never researched so much for a Naked Girls event as I did this one. While combing through books and scouring the internet, I learned a great deal.  Many of the typical stereotypes about this genre that my beliefs had fallen victim to were obliterated.  I also realized that many books that I had read and loved, such as A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess or Frankenstein by Mary Shelley are actually considered to be sci fi works…imagine my surprise!

Considering that the anticipation of this event made me tremble in my stilettos, it might amaze you to know that this was one of my favorite Naked Girl events.  Why?  The answer is eminently simple.  Being in a venue that packed with individuals that are so passionate about the literature being read and discussed is beyond incredible.  The energy in the room that night was palpable.

While I’m not going to take the time right now to review all of the works I had chosen, I will leave you with a few of my favorite quotes that I read that evening from Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlein:

“There is no safety this side of the grave”

“I’ve found out why people laugh. They laugh because it hurts so much . . . because it’s the only thing that’ll make it stop hurting.”

“Consider the black widow spider. It’s a timid little beastie, useful and, for my taste, the prettiest of the arachnids, with its shiny, patent-leather finish and its red hourglass trademark. But the poor thing has the fatal misfortune of possessing enormously too much power for its size. So everybody kills it on sight.”

“Jealousy is a disease, love is a healthy condition. The immature mind often mistakes one for the other, or assumes that the greater the love, the greater the jealousy – in fact, they are almost incompatible; one emotion hardly leaves room for the other.”

~Greta Layne

~ by Greta Layne on April 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
