Play It F%*#ING Loud!!

  Naked.  Rock & Roll.  Magnificence.

Seriously.  Everything about our second annual Naked Girls Rock was incredible!!!  From the readings to the photo shoot to the ever-popular Naked Guitar Hero ChallengeBut lets rewind a second here…the photo shoot.  Holy fucking photo shoot!!  It was some of the most fun I’ve EVER had on a shoot and…um…the images?  Yeah.  Amazing.  (psst – check out Michelle’s blog for our pic as Gina Simmons and Paula Stanley!)

Of the readings I did this year, I had so much fun with my segments on Tom Waits and Johnny Cash.  The piece I did on Johnny cash was taken from his autobiography.  I read about the time he was attacked by an ostrich.   It was actually a pretty brutal attack that had him hospitalized.  Yes…I said ostrich.  I have seen, with my own two eyes, an ostrich attack someone before – it’s insane!!  It is truly bizarre to witness something like that.  When I read this, I could literally picture Johnny Cash being attacked!!  Naturally, I had to bring it to this event.

But what really made my night, was reading a Tom Waits interview with Dominique Trixx.  First of all, if you’ve never attended a Chicago Naked Girls event, I’ll let you in on a little secret…Dominique Trixx & I have a ridiculously amusing time role-playing with each other and we try to do it quite often.  The interview was fantastic and involved much, much laughter.  In addition to the interview, I read a wonderful quote by Waits which I’d like to share once again:

“My kids are starting to notice I’m a little different from the other dads. “Why don’t you have a straight job like everyone else?” they asked me the other day. I told them this story: In the forest, there was a crooked tree and a straight tree. Every day, the straight tree would say to the crooked tree, “Look at me…I’m tall, and I’m straight, and I’m handsome. Look at you…you’re all crooked and bent over. No one wants to look at you.” And they grew up in that forest together. And then one day the loggers came, and they saw the crooked tree and the straight tree, and they said, “Just cut the straight trees and leave the rest.” So the loggers turned all the straight trees into lumber and toothpicks and paper. And the crooked tree is still there, growing stronger and stranger every day.”  

Keep rocking, beautiful stranger.

~Greta Layne

~ by Greta Layne on May 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
